Good Sleep

When was the last time you felt truly rejuvenated and energized? What made you feel that way?

******************

Truly rejuvenated and energized.  Boy.  I remember feeling that way when I was a kid after sleeping like a log all night.  Remember when you went to bed, fell asleep, and never woke up until you were called or the alarm went off?  Sleeping dreamlessly most of the night was common back then, and my body didn’t ache when I had to haul it out of the bed. There were very few middle-of-the-night calls of nature.

And in the summers of my childhood, there was no “Time to get up!”  There was no alarm.  I slept until I woke up.  Lovely.

Of course all that changed with my first job, my entering the world of adulthood and responsibility that was a far cry from the carefree summers I enjoyed. I still slept well, though, and usually felt energized and refreshed.

Then came love, then came marriage, then came Linda with a baby carriage 🙂 Now my nights were not my own, and four babies later, I rarely got a full night uninterrupted. That’s ok, I was still young.  A little more likely to be tired in the morning, but nothing I couldn’t overcome.

And now, I’m 68.  I’m still working and thankful for it. It’s just Terry and I in the house, and the only thing that interrupts my sleep is that ubiquitous call of nature. Four days each week the alarm rudely interrupts my dreams. The other three, I can sleep maybe half an hour longer than usual before I wake up naturally.

And I rarely feel rested.  I find myself falling asleep during the day without even being aware of it.  That happened once while I was with a client. How embarrassing! 

So the question is, when was the last time I felt refreshed and rejuvenated?  The answer is “I don’t know.  It’s been a while.”

What made me feel that way?  Good sleep.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-young-and-the-rested/

5 thoughts on “Good Sleep

  1. I hear you. Welcome to the sixties!
    As for falling asleep when you’re with a client, I understand how that might come about, too. Lack of sleep can do it, but some people do go one and on. I have a friend who would call me and talk for an hour or more — same old, same old incidents rehashed — and there were a few times I dozed off listening to her. (Thankfully I never dropped the phone!)
    Her mind could string together an incriminating series of incidents almost faster than mine can think. A psychologist would have classed her as paranoid schizophrenic, but she was having none of that. they just put you in the psych ward to destroy you. These plots were REAL. This man really said that and he really looked at her that way and then this (accident) happened and she knew HE made it happen because he’s into satanism and wants to jerk her chain and… Thankfully she has mellowed in time, but I do know how people can go on and on about their problems. until you’re almost under the table.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment