Blushing

Retrospectively Funny

Tell us about a situation that was not funny at all while it was happening, but that you now laugh about whenever you remember it.

****************

I was a frequent substitute at our church’s school.  In fact, I was there so often that the kids thought I was full-time staff. It was a great job, really.  I got all the fun of teaching and being with teens without the hassle of lesson prep, parent conferences, and all the rest.

It was time for some program or the other, I don’t remember what.  Choir concert, maybe, or just an awards program.  Anyway, I was sitting with my daughter, right behind a student about 16 years old, who was with her boyfriend. Every now and then, she would snuggle up, put her head on his shoulder, and his arm would go around her shoulders.

I was distracted, and surprised at this behavior. She knew this was not okay, and I didn’t know if I should say anything to her or not since I was just a substitute. Finally, though, I’d had enough.  I leaned forward, tapped her shoulder, and said, “Bertha, that’s inappropriate.  Please sit up,” (names changed to protect the innocent )

She did, and I thought no more about it.

At the end of the program, the young man with Bertha turned around, held out his hand to me, and said, “Hello.  I’m Bertha’s dad. Is there a problem?”

I was completely taken by surprise.  He was very youthful-looking, and I’d really thought he was a boyfriend. Well, at that point, all I could do was apologize profusely, explaining what I’d been thinking, and slink away wishing I were invisible.

It wasn’t long, though, before I was laughing at my error.  I don’t know if Bertha and her dad ever saw the humor in it.  I hope so.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/retrospectively-funny/

8 thoughts on “Blushing

Leave a Reply

