The Whole Truth

Truth Serum

You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask?

************************

“We have ways of making you talk. . . .”

Aren’t those chilling words?  I mean, really, you picture some poor soul tied to a chair under a bright light while ugly men with weapons of torture stand around grinning in anticipation. 

I feel exactly the same way about administering truth serum to someone, with or without their permission.  I wouldn’t do it. If someone is lying to me, that makes me unhappy.  However,  I would worry that hearing the absolute truth would make me even more unhappy.

For instance, “Do these pants make my behind look fat?”

“Yes, because it IS fat, you silly cow.”

Or, “Do you like my grey hair, or does it makes me look too old?”

“No, I don’t like it. You look like Hagatha, and that’s because you ARE old, you silly twit.”

How about, “Do you still love me as much as when we first got married?”

“I can’t remember when we first got married. It was 89 years ago. You expect me to remember ANYTHING that happened 89 years ago?”

Okay, enough silliness.  No, I would not administer truth serum. What I don’t know won’t hurt me.

Usually.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/truth-serum/

10 thoughts on “The Whole Truth

  1. Hi,
    I had given up on my old blogspot boring blog, and have just started in wordpress hoping this would make me a little more regular in my writing practice. Then I found your blog, and I ‘ll have to say that you are encouraging me as much as The Daily Post does, or perhaps, even more.
    I just made my first post on the writing prompt, and being nervous about it. Would you please care to have a look and tell me whether it is even a little close to the simple humour that you manage to bring every time in your posts ?!
    http://dohablogs.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/truth-serum/
    Take care…
    Cya

    1. Hello, Cya! I’m so glad my posts have been an encouragement to you, and I enjoyed reading yours, as well. You have an excellent command of the English language, which puts me to shame because I have no other language than English. I know a little bit of German, a tiny bit of Spanish.

      Anyway, Cya, the best advice I can give you is to just be yourself in your writing. Every writer has a little different style than every other write. Each one has his own personality. Some people are funny, others just aren’t. Those who aren’t shouldn’t try to be something they’re not.

      Write what you know about. I always write my own response to the daily prompt before I look at what others have said, so that I won’t be influenced by anyone else. And keep in mind that your age makes a difference in your outlook on life. I’m 67 years old, and I certainly see life differently now than I did when I was 17 or 27!

      Above all, keep writing! It has helped me so much just write every day. If you are interested, I also write a Bible study blog at http://www.lindasbiblestudy.wordpress.com. It’s more serious than most of the things I post here.

      Thanks for your comment, and thanks for being an encouragement to me 🙂

  2. Pingback: I’m proud | It's Mayur Remember?

  3. Pingback: The Whole Truth | Exposure

  4. Pingback: Truth Serum | My Kaleidoscope

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Truth Serum « RobertMcQ

  6. Pingback: Truth Again | Just Writing!

Leave a Reply

