Waiting. . . .waiting. . . .waiting. . . .

“Good things come to those who wait.” Do you agree? How long is it reasonable to wait for something you really want?

Seems to me this is a very subjective kind of question. To answer the first part, no, I don’t think I do agree that good things come (implies always) to those who wait.  I’ve known couples, for instance, who have waited for years to become pregnant, and have never been able to conceive a child.  I’ve know of situation in which people waited their whole working life for just a little recognition from their bosses, and never got it. There are single people out there who have waited and waited for Miss Right or Mr. Perfect, and it just hasn’t happened for them.  Sometimes, the biggest gain we have from waiting is to learn to be patient; also, we sometimes have to learn that whatever it is we’re waiting for may not actually be the best thing for us.

How long is it reasonable to wait for something you really want?

Having to wait for it seems to indicate that you can’t just go get it, or make it happen. In that case, it is reasonable to wait as long as you have to. Either that, or give it up and pin your hopes on something more attainable.

If it’s a job promotion you know you deserve, but you keep getting passed over, then maybe it’s time to start a job hunt–AFTER you talk to your boss and have an honest discussion about the situation.

If it’s a lifemate, maybe you’re not looking in the right places.  Maybe you’re too picky.  Maybe you’re expecting a movie star when you’re really more of a TV sit-com 🙂  Maybe having a lifemate shouldn’t BE the only focus of your life.  Maybe it’s way past time for you to  invest yourself in something other than a manhunt or a womanhunt. 

There are things I’ve wanted in life that never happened, and I find that I’m perfectly okay with that. There is so much more that has compensated in a much more satisfying way. I’m not a person who yearns for material things. I love my little house, my inexpensive wardrobe, my 15-year-old car.

The one thing I do long for is heaven. This yearning grows with each passing year, and I never thought that would happen.  I love life here.  I’m not being morbid. But as the calendar pages flip by at a terrifying rate of speed, I do look forward more every day to seeing the face of Jesus; to being reunited with loved ones; to being done with this weary old body. And that will all come at the exactly right time.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/waiting-room/

17 thoughts on “Waiting. . . .waiting. . . .waiting. . . .

  1. Pingback: The Sun Will Rise….. | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Good things come to those who wait | Lord of the Sick - Saviour of the World

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m at a stage in my life in which I can find the time if I want to. I work only three days each week now, at age 67, and writing is something I’ve been putting off for years because I just was too busy. No more putting it off!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At your age I was married, had a toddler and a baby on the way. Some women can write anyway. I couldn’t. Either the drive to do so wasn’t strong enough, or I just didn’t have the energy.

        Like

      2. I had a blog for over 6 months and had not written anything on it till the 1st of November. I am now motivated to write although i find it not easy. I find it difficult to balance my university work load and other things in between. But I believe this is soon to change even when looking forward to another year of continuing with studies to my BA Honour next year 🙂

        Like

      3. Great. Thank you for the advise. I think I am going to like your bible study blog. We share one common thing and that is, I too am a fan of Jesus. I love reading the bible and praying. I am crazy in love with Jesus. Will check it out.

        Like

Leave a comment