Swimming Upstream

Matters of Taste

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

***********************

Are you ready for this?  It’s been a long time ago now since I decided I can’t stand most contemporary TV programs, but the one show that “everyone” loved and that I hated at first sight was Friends. Yes, the beloved Jennifer Anniston et. al., the hit show of its decade, the one people talked about  aaallllll the livelong day.  I watched a 15-minute segment and turned it off, never to waste my time again.

Yes, the one-liners were funny.  Yes, I suppose the acting was above average for a vehicle of its genre.

So why did I hate it?

Sexsexsexsexsex. . . . . . .

Take the sex out, and there was no story line. Remove the bedroom, and there didn’t need to be any other set.  For 15 minutes, I watched the boys planning someone’s birthday party, which was to be held at a strip club; I watched the girls get all excited about the idea of moving it to a male strip club instead. I was completely turned off and I quickly tuned out.

You don’t need a brain to watch that stuff.  You just need hormones and gonads.

Good grief.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/matters-of-taste/

9 thoughts on “Swimming Upstream

  1. Pingback: A List Of Don’t – Or – It’s A Matter Of Taste (A Daily Prompt Post) | Avalon Reviews + Flash

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste – ADULT SITUATIONS | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: Divergent Series . . . Better Not! | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

