Moving

flowers-and-packing-boxes-dale-r

PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

Moving. Such a hassle.  Even worse when it wasn’t your own house you were packing up.

Mother and Dad had been lifelong packrats.  Three dumpsters full just from the basement.  Junk that “might come in handy someday.” There would be an  estate sale  for the farm machinery  and most of Mother’s treasures.

People were still bringing flowers and casseroles in memory of Mother and Dad. They also brought stories, often new ones that Sarah had never heard before. Wonderful memories. Thoughtfully, Sarah fingered an old, empty journal.

A good place, she thought, for recording memories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

69 thoughts on “Moving

  1. Journalling is a great idea, I am sure, to preserve memories . I used to , when I was a teenager though reading through them is a combination of sweet and awkward now.🙂 I guess I just got lazy , as I grew in years . I can also quite associate with the ” hoarder syndrome ” though for me it’s more for my baby’s stuffs , so hard to throw them away , the treasure chests of memories , I only part with her old clothes as we live in a poor country .
    Gosh , that’s more than 100 words. Sorry, Linda.
    Great story ! 🙂🙂🙂

    1. I believe the need to hold on to stuff is in all of us to some degree. I also believe that the generation that went through the Depression is more likely to hoard. I see it all the time, including my own mother. She saved the strangest things, because “you never know when you’re going to need it.”

  2. I agree with you neilmacdon. Of course I guarded Fotos and videos for my children, but nobody need waste-ballast. It outgrows. Written memories are even better, because you can put your own accents on them. Make them eternise.

  3. Dear Linda,

    I’m married to a packrat. Our basement is filled with unopened boxes of crap that might come in handy some day. I think if I just tossed it he’d never know. Sarah’s wise to start a journal. Good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    1. Thanks, Rochelle. It’s really a composite of some clients I’ve had plus my own personal experience dealing with all my mom’s stuff. It’s not unusual at all.

  4. I’ve seen that with my parents’ generation —hoarding stuff they’ll never use because “you never know when you’re going to need it.” I love the idea of journaling! I think it is a beautiful way to treasure memories!

    1. It’s drawn from people I’ve met in my counseling office; my own mother; and friends of mine whose parents left huge amounts of “stuff” for them to deal with.

      1. When I visited Philippines (my birth country – which I haven’t seen in 18 yrs!), I got a glimpse of what the future will bring. Our old house still as is when I left. My room and my siblings’ rooms were all the same. Pulled a string and it just withered away in my hands. Untouched after all these years… and my parents especially my Dad’s books were already covering the stairs, filled up the living room (my mom is now horrified to entertain people) and books were just everywhere! So I am currently scouting for a library where I can donate them. My parents still got a long way to go (I hope) but I’ve starting to think now that I should have a ‘cataloging’ holiday next time 😉

      2. I think people, when they reach a certain age, just don’t have the energy to cope with the size of the problem. I’m sorry you’re having to think about this. Praying for you.

      3. That is true. And it actually made me want to downsize everything I got now! I won’t need all those plastic containers I’ve been saving all this time hahaha!

  5. Linda, you just now channeled my mom with her packrat tendencies. My dad, too, although, it’s always things like screws and nails and pieces of board. One of these days my folks will go, too, and the memories will be left. Journals, i think, will be the best ever. Sweet story!

  6. Sounds like my mother in laws house – for every item that leaves the house, two enter it! I must make sure I have next to nothing left before I go 🙂 Nicely written tale

  7. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    Touching story, I hope she does write down all the stories about her parents their lose would be almost as hard as losing her parents. I’ve solved the pack rat problem we move every couple of years, it makes you get rid or stuff and hesitate on getting more.

    1. My mom had beautiful crystal goblets that she never, ever used for fear they would get broken. She had brand new dishtowels embroidered beautifully by her mother, who died when Mom was only 21. She never used them. I don’t even know where most of her things ended up, since she died in Colorado. It’s a shame to lose these things. They lived in a closet or a drawer for over 50 years, for fear they would be ruined–and now they’re just gone.

  8. With the ever increasing population and diminishing living spaces, packrats and hoarders are going to find it tough. Very well written, Linda. Loved the flow.

  9. Yes, you are right, in fact lots of people are pack rats. me included. I just gave away half of my clothes two weeks ago, but there is still a lot, to throw away or give away in house. And in my parent´s house it is even worse, bacause all children left there everything what is not needed at the moment….with memories and thoughts it may be the same…and they would be better stored in a magazine then in our head….

  10. This one hit home with me, Linda. We had a sale a few months after Mom died (Dad had been gone 5 years). We got some good stories from neighbors who shared wonderful memories.

    1. Thank you, Kelvin. These 100-word stories are helping me pay more attention to unnecessary words–adjectives, adverb in particular–and use stronger verbs instead. A valued learning experience.

  11. This seems to hit a nerve with all your readers, from all over the place, and I can only add: me too. When I packed the stuff after my parents passed–cabinets full with good china, crystal glasses, towels, stuff… crocheted lace my grandmother made, stacks of it… all stashed away because it could be ruined if used. I kept the personal stuff, the lace, some of the china… and find that I have the hording tendencies too. I wish I had horded the memories instead. I heard these stories so often as a kid, I rolled my eyes when grandma told them again and again… now no one remembers them and I hadn’t paid attention. I meant to say, great story.

    1. Thank you so much. It does seem to have struck a chord, and I believe it’s because it’s truly a part of the human experience. We all tend to hang to things we don’t use, don’t need.

      I also have crocheted doilies, for which I’ve never lost my fondness. They help decorate the mantle over our little fireplace, along with some of my favorite teapots. Who will get them when I’m gone? Don’t know. I’d like to think some of the women and girls in the family will want one as a memory 🙂

Leave a Reply

