Yummy Capers!

Caper

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

********************

This is a word you don’t hear much today when it refers to people–usually children–playing, running, jumping and so on. Kind of old-fashioned to say “The children were capering all about, having a wonderful time.”

It also has a connotation of criminality when referencing a robbery, for instance, that was well-planned.  “So, youse guys all in wit’ me on dis here caper?”

My favorite way to use the word is culinary. I didn’t know what capers were until I was planning to use a recipe that called for them.

20160621-capers-vicky-wasik-4

I had to look them up so I’d know where to find them in the grocery store 🙂 You can read all about them here.

I like the flavor.  Pungent, a bit salty, they add a nice punch to many recipes.  And the good news is that they’re a healthy ingredient.  You don’t have to feel guilty about eating them 🙂

And now I feel like trying out one of those recipes I saw on the site in the link 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/caper/

4 thoughts on “Yummy Capers!

  1. Pingback: Capering Around – TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

