Silly, then Serious

Portion

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.
                                                                *****************
I’m going to be silly for a few moments, and then I’m going to be serious.
Why is it that the foods we love are the foods we have to eat in small portions?  And the food that satisfies no craving, like lettuce, we can eat in unlimited portions? It’s all about portion control, the diet gurus tell us.  Yeah, I know.  So give me a huge portion of chocolate ice cream and skip the lettuce.  Right?  Of course, right. Whoever heard of gorging on lettuce? No one, ever.
Ok.  Big switch now.
The word portion always makes me think of a wonderful old hymn that I love.  I used to sing it as a solo.  Not any more.  My voice is as creaky as my back these days.  I want to share it with  you, though, and hope you will be blessed.  If it’s not your thing, then just enjoy the silliness 🙂
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/portion/
3 thoughts on “Silly, then Serious

Leave a Reply

