Old-Fashioned Sayings

Better

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

*****************

Every now and then, one of my offspring tells me that some of the things I say are very old-fashioned. I reply  that it’s not surprising, since I AM kind of old-fashioned.

I hear, often, my mom’s words coming out of my mouth. For instance, would say she was “tickled pink” over something.

tickled-pink-aw

Another one she said was, “You’d better had!”

Strangely, I knew exactly what she meant.

Here’s how it worked:

“Linda, did you clean up your room?”

“Yes.”

“Well, you’d better had!”

I have no idea how that would diagram. It certainly doesn’t fit into any sentence structure I know of.  But the meaning was clear.

As my dad would say, “Well, I guess!”

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/better/

One thought on “Old-Fashioned Sayings

Leave a Reply

