Life

Friday Fictioneers photo prompt:

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

Edelina  tended her paperwhites carefully, choosing this one way to resist the horror that swept over Germany and the world. In the bleakness of this terrible man, Adolph Hitler, she took a secret pride in tenderly caring for this delicate symbol of life.

So much death. Not just the men, the boys, who went off full of glory to be sacrificed to Hitler. The deaths in the ghettos of Poland, in the evil camps she had heard about, weighed on her heart and mind as she tended to her plants, nurturing hope.

32 thoughts on “Life

  1. So true, Linda. I have a book, the writer of which was a girl in 1930s Germany. Her father, an officer in the German army when Hitler gained power, opposed the Nazi program and worked against it together with some factory manager to issue Jews work permits and thus get them out of the concentration camps.

    Eventually he was suspected, arrested and executed — and because of his “bad record”, his son was so mistreated in the army that he died as well. It seems everybody with a conscience suffered under Hitler. Years later, as a senior, this daughter heard a university student in a debate as the question, “So freedom is just the absence of tyranny?” And she decided, “That’s it! These kids don’t have a clue. I’m telling my story.”

  2. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    I felt the weight of her bleak reality. Nurturing a flower sounds like a good way to block out the horrible reality.

  3. We always look at the army and victims but not often do we see those who just tried to exist quietly hoping all would stop (and not having the power to do something)

    1. As one of the earliest Boomers, the war was very real to me. My dad was in the Navy, on a submarine. My mom was one of those who had to just wait–keep the home fires burning–she never talked much about it, only about the few times he was home on leave. I think it would be torture, but I suppose you just go ahead and live life, pushing the possibilities to the back of your mind.

      1. I too, grew up post-war. My dad was in the Navy also, but had such horrible asthma they gave him an honorable discharge – plus, it was so close to the end of the war they didn’t “need” him. For a long time, I was hesitant to say I was a girl of German descent. (Forgetting there was also Irish and English in the mix.) Later I found out I was partly Jewish from someone way back when. Ah, the mix-ups of life.

      2. I have a drop or two of Polish Jew. I think it’s just one small proof that we all came from the same ancestors, and DNA is bearing that out more and more. You and I could very well be distant cousins 🙂

  4. Wonderfully written, Gran. We of this generation can only imagine what it was like at that time and pray that we never have to see it again. though, we have, in bosnia, africa, etc. So sad that humans just can’t seem to get along with one another.

    1. Thank you. I agree–but the Bible does say that the heart of mankind is deceitful and desperately wicked. There will always be greed for power, money, and control until Jesus returns.

  5. handmadejewelryhaven

    I expect many of us in the US are ‘tending our paperwhites’ more and more lately.

    Thank you for sharing,
    Found your blog on FF and hope you can visit mine too. 🙂

    – Lisa

    1. Thanks,Lisa. I try to read all the responses, but sometimes don’t make it all the way. I’ll try to remember to finish that up before tomorrow when the new prompt comes out!

Leave a Reply

