Think Before You Speak

Filter

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

*****************

“She has no filter” has become a widely used way to indicate that someone says exactly what she is thinking, with no concern as to who may be hurt, embarrassed, angry, or horrified by her words.

Please don’t be offended by my use of the feminine pronoun. Men are equally guilty. This is a human foible, not a gender problem.

It takes some time to learn to monitor what comes out of one’s mouth. Small children are capable of bringing their parents to blush furiously by their innocent statements.  I will never forget the time my little brother, then three or four years old, stated loudly in a crowded room, “Mr. Smith, my daddy doesn’t like you!”  My dad was completely embarrassed. The gentleman involved, though, found it amusing and took it with good grace. I don’t remember if there was any further communication between him and my father.

Image result for child's words embarrass parent

Growing up in the parsonage was often difficult. There were certain people in the church, in any church, who are willing and able to pump information from the children of the pastor. My parents warned us about this, admonishing us not to tell people things that weren’t any of their business.

One time a particular woman approached me when I was about 14 and asked me a pointed question about the family finances.  I was taken by surprise, had no idea how to respond, and blurted, “I’m not supposed to answer people who pump me for information!”

Again, my memory fails me. I have no idea what happened after that.

There’s a lot of unfiltered speech floating around in our current political atmosphere.  It’s too bad. Once words are written or spoken, they can’t be undone. If one has been injudicious and spoken or written incorrectly,  apologies can be made; the words remain, however, and will not be forgotten.  I’m thinking of the young woman who commented publicly that Barron Trump will be the first home-schooled shooter.  I believe she lost her job on SNL, which she should have, but the words are there.  Maybe that woman will develop a better filter, and not take shots at children.

I believe that anyone who targets specific children, whether their parents are liberal or conservative, should pay some kind of consequence. I’m completely bipartisan on this issue. Adults should just know better. Period.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/filter/

3 thoughts on “Think Before You Speak

  1. I think the church “gossip” is universal. I also had church people ask about finances. I think because the president is unfiltered people think it gives them the right to be too. But going after a child isn’t right.

  2. Oh, yes, this is true! In one instance my mom slapped my face for repeating a saying I’d often heard her make. I didn’t think of it that the remark was denigrating and said it to someone of that circumstance. Took me awhile to catch why she’d called me mouthy and slapped me.

    Children innocently repeating has been a source of embarrassment to a lot of parents. Like the boy who, soon after their pastor arrived for a visit, asked him, “What’s a miracle?” The pastor explained and then asked why he wanted to know. “When my dad saw you coming up our walk he said, ‘Here comes the pastor and it’ll be a miracle if he doesn’t want to stay for lunch.’ ”

    Shoe on the other foot, one day when I was a teen I repeated a “joke” I’d picked up, racist in nature, and suddenly stopped, realizing there was a black person present in the group. The damage was done but I felt horrible because really, I didn’t think or feel that way at all. I was just parroting a dumb joke. a filter fell in place that day: I resolved that was the last time I’d repeat “jokes” of that nature.

Leave a Reply

