Yes, Indeed

Overworked

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

******************

I certainly can’t claim to have been overworked since early October. My sit muscles have been overworked, for sure, but that’s about it.

I’ll tell you what I do think is overworked.

Rhetoric.  Liberal and Conservative alike.

I’m so tired of it, and I’m afraid all the accusations and mudslinging are going to go on for a very long time.

I’m tired of the name-calling and the vitriol. I’m tired of people accusing other people of “playing the___________________ card” (you fill in the blank).

Image result for angry woman shaking finger at someone

I’m tired of being lectured by the other side that I’m ill-informed, uninformed, willfully ignorant, bigoted, and a “phobic.”  I’m tired of whiners who refuse to accept the reality that Hillary couldn’t quite pull it off.

I’m especially tired of the overworked “She won the popular vote!” whine. I’m tired of people failing to understand the elegantly structured Electoral College that, much like our bicameral Congress, keeps the most densely populated areas from ALWAYS winning. It is not outdated. It’s a perfect way from keeping the most populous states from beating down the less populated states on every single issue. It’s fair and balanced. Pardon the use of a well-known news organization’s not-always-absolutely-true slogan.

I’m tired of the threats against the inauguration day activities. The overworked use of protests and threats of stopping the whole thing. The overworked shrieking from Follywood, whose denizens seem to think they really are the cornerstone of American culture, and that if they stop working the world will end.

Sometimes I just want to pull the covers over my head and go back to sleep.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/overworked/

Leave a Reply

