Sleeping In

Calm

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

*********

I’m really late today.  Ninety-three other people have already posted, so I may not get much traffic 🙂

Why am I so late?  Because I slept until nearly 10 a.m.  Why did I do that?  Because I was awake from about 3 a.m. until sometime after 7 a.m.  Why was I awake then?  Beats me.

I’m perfectly calm about it, though, because I have no obligations or responsibilities today and it really doesn’t matter when–or if–I got out of bed. In fact, it doesn’t change anybody else’s life at all if I choose to stay in bed all day.

Image result for sleeping in

I think my sleep disruption right now is partly due to the fact that I’m never really physically tired.  You can’t stay off your feet most of the day, every day, and get too worn out.  But I’m not willing to have the pain, so I’ll continue to rest until sometime after the surgery.

About which I am also quite calm.  Someone asked me the other day if I’m nervous about it.  Nope. Not at all. It’s a simple, straightforward procedure. And if it keeps that particular part of my creaky old back from hurting for a few  years, then why should I be nervous?

Look, I’ve had both knees replaced.  I’ve had a hysterectomy. I’ve had my gall bladder removed. No, I’m not afraid of surgery.  Yes, I know things can go wrong. Thinking that way leads anyone down a very dark path, and I like to focus on all the positive outcomes I’ve had over the years.

So calm was a good word for me today. I like it.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/calm/

6 thoughts on “Sleeping In

  1. Well you got a little traffic…here I am! I was a slug-a-bed just like you…and found a very interesting blog to read too! So sloth pays….sometimes you find a ‘gem’! Best wishes with your surgery. I hope it’s successful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that’s one of the best feelings in the world, to be careful with no obligations or responsibilities for a day and sleep in 🙂 Sometimes, we get so caught up in the world and busyness of life, we forget to relax!

    I wish you a well recovery with the surgery!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

