Four-Day Weekends

Recharge

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

*****************

Aren’t you thankful for the times you get to take your feet off the pedals and just coast down the hill?  You can enjoy the breeze on your face, the momentary break from the constant need to keep pedaling if you’re going to get anywhere.

doggy

I love my four-day weekends.  How did I get so lucky, you may ask.  Well, I’ve reached the grand old age of 69, and I think I’ve earned my coasting days.  I work Tuesday through Thursday, and Tuesdays I’m there from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.  Believe me, I’m putting in my time!

I might not be so tired if it weren’t for the chronic low back pain  that I live with. Herniations, stenosis, degenerative joints. It’s a nasty little cocktail of hurting, and it drains my energy. The shots I get do help, but I think they’re less effective this time than they were the first time around. That’s to be expected.

So on my weekends, I recharge my batteries. I sleep a little later, although sometimes I have to really work at that. My system seems to be set to 6 a.m.  I move a little slower, enjoying my morning coffee with no sense of hurry. I do household chores like laundry and cleaning, but I do them slowly and a little at a time. It hurts to make the bed; it hurts to scrub the toilet. Sweeping hurts. So I rest. I’m thankful that “my” chair doesn’t hurt my back. I’m very thankful that I’m comfortable in bed. These places are my oases. There is relief there.

This weekend, there’s something going on every day but Monday. Yesterday I taught my class in a homeschool co-op. Today the staff at my office is having a picnic. Tomorrow is church.  Monday I’ll probably go swimming in the morning, but the rest of the day is mine to use or not, as I please.

Perhaps best of all, the 90+ temps we’ve been having since mid-July are finally going to start coming down and staying down.  It’s supposed to be around 85 tomorrow and most of the week. Better.  I’ll be happier yet when it goes below 80.

glazed-lemon-zucchini-bread-recipe-so-good

Right now, I’m going to finish my coffee, make a loaf of iced lemon zucchini bread for the picnic, and maybe throw in a load of laundry. I already finished filling the dishwasher and got it running, so my day won’t be a complete waste 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/recharge/

2 thoughts on “Four-Day Weekends

Leave a Reply

