Fast and Slow

Slowly

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

*************

Of course, the story of the tortoise and the hare is the first thing I thought of, so here it is, just for fun.

When I was a kid, time crawled.  Vacations from school seemed very long, especially summer. Of course, back then we didn’t start until the Tuesday after Labor Day, and we were done before Memorial Day. Clear boundaries are a good thing.  I remember when the “lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer”  really were actually all of that. Delightful, long, fun summer days. 

Then I went to college, and the days began to move faster. It was okay, because I looked forward to graduation and whatever would follow.

Then I fell in love, and the days dragged again–notice I didn’t say “moved slowly,” which is a whole different thing than “dragged.”  I wanted to be done with school.  I wanted to get married and get started in that life.

Finally the day came, and time picked up speed.  Before I knew it, our first baby came along. And sudden the days flew, but the nights crawled along slowly.  Feeding every 3-4 hours, fussing, demanding attention. All part of adjusting when a baby comes along. But we figured it out, and we got better at it with each one of our four.

And the years flew, and now my babies are all grown up, three in their forties and one almost there. Wham!  Time hits you like a ton of bricks, and before you can turn around you’re having old people’s health issues. Each day is like a minute, and I’m having a hard time keeping up. Good grief, July is winding down already and it just started yesterday!

The only instances of time moving slowly are when I can’t stay asleep at night.  It doesn’t happen often, thank God! If only I could take those minutes and hours from a slowly- moving night and put them into my day.

There are some things I still want to accomplish before I turn up my toes, and I think I’d better get a move on.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/slowly/

2 thoughts on “Fast and Slow

Leave a Reply

