My Travels

Journey   (https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-journey/)

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

****************

I’m pretty sure my days of being able to take a journey of any  length are drawing to an end. My body won’t tolerate it.  And that’s okay, because I’ve had some wonderful journeys.

When I was growing up, we traveled from Minnesota to Colorado to visit relatives. Then from Oregon to Minnesota, to Colorado, and to wonderful places within the state.  When I was 15, we moved from Oregon back to Minnesota.Since then, I’ve traveled to almost every state, sometimes just driving through to get to a destination.

I’ve journeyed to England.  That was a fabulous experience. It was April, but it didn’t rain until the day we left.  Seeing so many places I’d read about was like a fairy tale to me! Then, later, I went to Germany to visit my son and his family.  More amazing sights, including the privilege of being in Oberammergau in 2000, to see the Passion Play. Awesome.

Last summer I got to go to Slovakia.  There’s another trip being planned for 2017, and I don’t know if my back will hold up, but I’d love to go.

There are many other places I’d love to see but probably never will. Still, I feel I’ve been privileged to see all that I have.  It’s a wonderful world.

My life journey has been pretty amazing, too.  Rearing my children, teaching, and now working as a counselor–all those things were dreams that I had, and they’ve  all come true.  Hard work involved?  You bet, but worth every minute of it.  And I’ve been on that journey with the best man for me, for 47 years.

There have been some pretty sizable bumps in the road, and there will be more. God never promised us a pain-free existence, but He did promise that He would always be with us on the journey. Best traveling companion ever.

And here’s a favorite poem of mine:

The Road Not Taken – Poem by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

2 thoughts on “My Travels

Leave a Reply

