Luck? Or a Guardian Angel?

Day 13 Lucky 13

June 13, 1944. Prompted by the successful Allied Landing in Europe, Germany launched a V1 Flying Bomb attack on England. Luckily, only four of the bombs hit their targets. 

Tell us about a time you were lucky. Or unlucky.

********

I’m pretty sure I’ve written about this before, but a quick search didn’t turn it up.

I was about 12.  We lived in Portland, Oregon, about two hours from Mt Hood. A landmark in Oregon, Mt. Hood is an extinct volcano. Like most volcanoes, it has fumaroles here and there–holes like tunnels down the side of the mountain that let steam escape in an active volcano.

It was late winter, and the youth group from our church had scheduled an outing to Mt. Hood. We would go sledding, tobogganning, and whatever else we could find to do.  The weather was perfect, and I could hardly wait. Once we got to the lodge, we all rented out gear and headed for the designated slopes.

What great fun we had!  It wasn’t terribly cold, and the snow had just the right amount of water to make it nice and slippery. We flew down, trudged back up, over and over.

I had traded my sled for a short toboggan, and was enjoying lying flat on my stomach as I zoomed down the hillside.

Suddenly, the toboggan stopped. There didn’t seem to be any reason for it, and I peered over the side only to see. . . . .

Nothing.  Nothing but blackness. And I was suddenly terrified.  I screamed bloody murder!

Within moments, there were guys yelling at me, “Don’t move!  Hold still!”  Believe me, I had no desire to move!  I was having visions of falling into that hole forever and ever. The back end of my toboggan seemed stable, but the snow under the front end was crumbling. I’ve never been so scared!

The rest is kind of a blur.  I remember the ski patrol guys lying flat, and inching me sideway off that hole.  I don’t remember if they rigged up any ropes or  other equipment. I do remember that once they had me a good distance from the hole, they  blocked it off and cleared that slope.

 Was I lucky that day?  Some would call it luck, but I knew it was God.  PS2.tif

ttps://kathleenbduncan.com/2016/06/12/june-13-challenge/

3 thoughts on “Luck? Or a Guardian Angel?

Leave a Reply

