A Life Without Purpose

Purpose

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

******************

“So, what do you want to be when you grow up?”

Briana’s liquid brown eyes gazed up at her grandmother as she wondered how to answer the question.

Grandma’s life had been busy and full. She’d been married to Grandpa for a very long time. To Briana, it seemed like a couple of lifetimes!  She’d had six babies that she’d reared while she took care of a huge house, gardened, wrote her many novels, and did lots of volunteering at her church.  Briana felt overwhelmed at the thought that she was expected to follow in her grandma’s footsteps.

Grandma waited. She watched all sorts of emotions cross Bri’s adorable face, and she brushed the stray locks of golden hair back from the little girl’s forehead.

“You know, Honey, no one has to be exactly like anyone else. You need some sort of purpose in your life, or it won’t be worth much.  But you don’t have to know right now what it is that you want to do.”

“Grandma, how can I know? My friends all want to be teachers or doctors or scientists or something, and I don’t know. . . “

“Briana, you have to just do whatever has to be done, one day at a time, and if you ask God to help you know what comes next, He’ll direct you.”

“So if I just make my bed, straighten my room, take care of my chores, help Mommy–things like that?  Then sometime I’ll know what I’m supposed to do with my whole life?”

“That’s right, Bri. You just keep moving in the right direction, and you pray and trust God. Before you know it, you’ll be all grown up and you’ll have a pretty good idea what you’re supposed to do next.”

Briana sighed. “I wish I knew right now.”

“Well, I have an idea.  Maybe the next thing you’re supposed to do is give me a big hug, and then we’ll go find some cookies and lemonade.  How does that sound?”

“That sounds great, Grandma.  I hope I get to be as smart as you someday.”

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/purpose/

5 thoughts on “A Life Without Purpose

  1. How sweet and inspirational, though am all grown up I still feel like that little girl sometimes, but I guess by doing things that we like and going with the flow will finally lead me to the real purpose of my existence.

Leave a Reply

