Philosophical Phase

Phase

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

******************

“Oh, he’s just going through a phase. He’ll get over it.”

“That situation didn’t phase me.  I couldn’t have cared less.”

“What phase is the moon in right now?”

Words.  I’m sure there are many other ways to use this one, but it’s early and even though I’ve had my coffee, my brain is still telling me I should be asleep. Must be a phase I’m going through.

You know, I don’t remember my parents ever being impressed with that idea–kids going through some sort of phase.  They expected us to do what we were supposed to do, no matter what our particular phase may have been. This, of course, was back in the day when parenting wasn’t emotion-driven.  They didn’t worry about being our friends. We had kids our own ages in the neighborhood to fill that need.  Parents were for safety, provision, teaching, training, and security.  The friendship phase–there’s that word again–comes after the kids are adults.

There was a time in this country when a teenaged phase would have been highly questioned. Young people, young adults, were expected to engage in profitable activity as well as the fun things all kids enjoy.  They  had household chores (non-negotiable) and were an important part of the smooth running of the household. If some kid had a phase going on, in a well-run family, he could indulge it all he wanted somewhere apart from everyone else. The drama king or queen of the family did not have the privilege of upsetting everyone else.

A “phase” was not an excuse for poor behavior, or for making others miserable.

And now I’m going to phase out, because I have to go to work.  It’s a pretty high probability that someone I see today will be going through a phase, or have a kid or spouse going through a phase, and they’re going to want to know what to do about it.

Best advice? Ignore it.  This too shall pass.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/phase/

4 thoughts on “Philosophical Phase

    1. if it’s going to change, we have to stop letting government tell us how to act, what to think, what to believe. When we are over-governed, we lose incentive, initiative, and freedom.

      Little mini politicial rant, there 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

