Fat and Flourishing

Flourish

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

*******

Psalm 92:12-14King James Version (KJV)

12 The righteous shall flourish like the palm tree: he shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon.

13 Those that be planted in the house of the Lord shall flourish in the courts of our God.

14 They shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be fat and flourishing;

I remember reading this passage as a kid and laughing to myself.  Who wanted to be FAT and flourishing?  Couldn’t we just –you know, flourish?  Leave out the fat part.

Then I learned what the word fat meant in that verse. It comes from a Hebrew word, according to Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible,  that denotes richness and fertility  such as in fertile soil. It is the condition that allows things to grow and thrive.

There are some examples in the Bible of old people who became fertile and produced a child. One example would be Sarah and Abraham who, in their old age, God blessed with Isaac, the son of the promise God made to Israel.

Now, I don’t particularly care about becoming fertile in my old age. As a matter of fact, I think I would be shocked and not too thrilled if I found I was going to have a baby. I believe, however, that being nourishing and fertile can apply to more than reproduction.

I have four children, nine grandchildren. Those nine grandchildren give me a new opportunity to be rich and nourishing in passing down traditions, stories,  and my faith.

I was a teacher for several years. I had the opportunity to enrich the lives of my students.

Now I’m a counselor, and it is a delight to me that I can still bring richness and nourishment to the people I work with. Yesterday, it was my great delight to open my Bible with a young woman and show her how much God loves her.She was feeling pretty low when she came in. When she left, she was glowing with the joy of the knowledge that she was loved by God, and of infinite value to Him.

I work in a Christian counseling office, by the way, so I have the freedom to counsel from the Bible. If I get a client who doesn’t want that, then I leave it alone. I never force my clients to  listen to a sermon. Most people, however, know we are a Christian office when they call for an appointment, so it’s usually not an issue.

Anyway.  Pardon the rabbit trail, there, but I didn’t want anyone to think we force-feed Christianity to our clients 🙂

It is a particular pleasure to see my clients flourish. Often, when they first come in, they are empty and dry. They are brittle, with no green or quickening in their roots and branches. Counseling involves watering, fertilizing, and nourishing health of the inner person.  Nourishing produces flourishing.

I like being fat and flourishing 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/flourish/

5 thoughts on “Fat and Flourishing

Leave a Reply

