Under His Wings

Shadow

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

***********

There are already 84 responses to this prompt.  I’m really behind the eight-ball today 🙂

So I’m going to go with the first things that pop into my head: First, two songs.

The shadow of your smile when you are gone.. . . .

Me and my shadow, walking down the avenue . . . .

Then, so many Bible verses I won’t list them all, but here is one of my favorites:

Psalm 17:8

Keep me as the apple of the eye; Hide me in the shadow of Your wings. . .

Which takes me to a story I heard as a child to illustrate the protection afforded to us by being under His wing:

There was a farmer whose barn burned to the ground. After the fire was out and things had cooled down, he walked through the ash and the mess to see if anything at all had survived. He came across the carcass of a hen, and was sick to think of how she had died. He pushed her remains aside with his booted foot, and out from under her wings, several little chicks came scurrying.  The hen had given her life to save her chicks, protecting them under her wings.

What a place of refuge we can find under the wings of the God Who created us, loved us, and gave Himself for us.  Psalm 91:4.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/shadow/

5 thoughts on “Under His Wings

  1. Rita Kirby

    Psalm 23 says “tho I walk thru the valley of the shadow of death”. A father was explaining this verse to his young son. He told his son if he were on the side of the street and a large truck went by and its shadow fell over his body, the shadow would not hurt him. So therefore the shadow of death would not hurt him.

  2. The last prayer that my father prayed over me with his hand on my head was Psalm 17:8. I was getting ready to come back to Germany. I had stepped off the ledge and become self-employed and my father was giving me his blessing and he said, she is the apple of my eye, Lord, hide her under the shadow of your wings. That meant a lot to me because my father was a man of few words. That day I realized he loved me.
    Shalom Aleichem,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

