All the World’s a Stage

Mask

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

**************

Masks.  We all wear them. Sometimes we know we’re wearing them, sometimes the habit has become so strong that we don’t even think about it. We get  up, comb our hair, brush our teeth, and put on our masks.

What my clients will see today:

venetian masks are a centuries old tradition of venice italy the masks ...

What my husband saw when I got up:

I had a rough night.  I was awake for a couple of hours between 3 and 5 a.m., and up at 6.  I don’t like morning at the best of times.  I really don’t like it when I haven’t slept well, when I’m still coughing up gunk from allergies or whatever, when my back is still achey in spite of the pain shots, when I want a donut filled with jelly and have a healthy mini-bagel instead.

I don’t want to go to work this morning, but I will.  And my clients will not know that I was a mess at home, and that Terry wisely retreated back to bed to give me the time and space to get my happy face on.  He knows I need time with my Bible on any morning. On a morning like this, I need it even more.

So.  I’ll put my happy mask on, and maybe as the day progresses it will become less of a lie and more of a reality. That does happen.  And until the transformation happens, I will act the part and do my best to help the people who come to me today.

And just think how scary life would be if we didn’t all wear masks.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/mask/

6 thoughts on “All the World’s a Stage

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 27 – “Gifts Of Eternal Light” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

