Fat Road or Skinny Street

Crossroads

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

***********

I am so tempted to write about politics. This prompt couldn’t be more appropriate. Today is Primary Day in Pennsylvania, and I just got back from voting. And by the way, in the 50 or so years I’ve been voting, I don’t remember an uglier or more acrimonious primary season.  Here in the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave, we could use a bit more common courtesy.

However, I’m in no mood to start an ugly controversy, so I think I’ll go in a different, more personal direction.

, Not That! talks about the habits skinny people utilize to stay thin ...

I am at a crossroads.  I can continue to sloooooooowly lose the weight that has accompanied most of my adult life.  I’ve lost 17 pounds to date, which is minimal compared to what I need to lose.  It’s taken me a very long time. Part of the reason for that is that my back went wonky on me again, and I haven’t been able to exercise.  I’ll be back in the pool on Friday, I hope. The winter has  been very hard on me. I’ve gone from one upper respiratory infection to another, feeling just miserable a lot of the time. And now, in this utterly beautiful season with all the flowering trees and grass growing like crazy, my allergies are really kicking up.  I sound like Jeremiah the Bullfrog. Croak, croak. I’m not sick, so I can only assume it must be allergies.

OR.  Or, I can keep nibbling away (probably not the best word-choice) as I have been, counting carbs and  getting back into an exercise routine to help burn the blubber.

Well, you may say, that’s not so hard.  Just Do It!

If you think that, you haven’t been paying attention. This is not my first go-round with fat, and I’m sure it will plague me to my coffin.  In heaven, I want a size 0 robe!

So what are my excuses?

  1.  My gene pool.  Ask any of my cousins.  They’ll tell you.
  2.  My slow metabolism.  I’ve tried every “speed-it-up” diet out there, and I say NO MORE!
  3. My distaste for physical activity that makes me sweat and hurt. I know, I know. No pain, no gain. You enjoy yourself if that’s what rings your bell.  I’ll swim.  It’s better for my back, anyway.
  4. My height.  Or lack thereof.  I’m not overweight.  I’m underheight.  Not even five feet tall these days.  I used to be 5′ 1.25″  and now I can claim a full 4’11.”  It’s just wrong.

And if you don’t think it’s a pain to be so short, just try buying pantyhose that fit a short, heavy woman with stumps for legs.  Yeah. Don’t even talk to me about “short and cute.”  I’d rather be tall and dignified and not have my pantyhose make my legs look like the saggy baggy elephant.

Please don’t respond with all the cool places you’ve found pantyhose that fit. I have found a good source.  Finally.

Anyway, at this point I’m choosing to stay in the battle.  I got my A1C results back down into the 6 range. Those of you who battle Type II diabetes know what that’s all about. My doctor is happy with that.  So am I.  It’s a validation of my change of diet, even though the weight isn’t coming off the way I’d like.

So.  There’s my personal angst. My personal crossroad.  My personal choice. Even if I never lose another pound, I know I’m eating better, and I can be okay with that.  I think.

By the way, did you know that Atkins is making these wonderful little dark chocolate pieces about one inch square, filled with either raspberry or fudge?  Really good, and they satisfy my sweet tooth without piling on the carbs.  Nice.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/crossroads/

11 thoughts on “Fat Road or Skinny Street

  1. When I first started trying to lose weight I was exercising and eating properly and the weight wasn’t coming off as fast as I would have liked. Ive done it slow and steady and managed to keep it off. As long as you eat healthy and exercise you are doing the best you can!

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 26 – “Seafaring Scalliwags” by TooFullToWrite & HastyWords | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 26 – “Seafaring Scallywags” by TooFullToWrite & HastyWords | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. At age 48, I went from overweight couch potato to exercising four to five times per week. I thought I would lose weight. From September ’11 to October ’12 I did seven triathlons, a dozen 5K’s and lots of cycling events. And lost THREE pounds! 3. That’s it!

    My clothes fit better. I was in much better shape. But I still weighed way too much!
    “Obese” according to the charts.

    In the years since, I’ve stayed within 10 pounds of that weight, up or down. It’s so frustrating!

    When I get home from this trip, I am going to start meeting with a nutritionist.

    I’ll pray for you. Please pray for me. Together we could lose weight equals to a small child!

  5. Ronnie

    Good for you! Those right choices are much more important than the number on the scale, though I understand your frustrations. Hang in there. It will pay off in the end.

  6. 17 lbs are nothing to sneeze at – good for you. I understand your plight. It seems after a certain age; the pounds just refuse to budge. But, you’re eating healthier, and that’s an accomplishment. Keep it up hour by hour. That’s all any of us can do. Best of luck to you and hope you feel better soon. @sheilamgood at Cow Pasture Chronicles

Leave a Reply

