Who Knew?

Fake

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

************

Amelia narrowed her eyes, concentrating on the person who smiled at her so broadly. She didn’t know him, had never seen him before as far as she remembered.

Something was off. She had that spidey-sense reaction in her stomach that she always trusted. She nearly turned her back to him, but decided she wanted to be able to see him instead.

Normal-looking guy, really.  Dark hair with just a bit of wave.  Eyes so brown they were nearly black. Laugh crinkles around his eyes, but smooth skin other than that.  She put him at youngish 30’s.  Good shoulders, muscular arms obvious in the tee he wore with his well-worn jeans. Nothing to set him apart or make her nervous–but she was nervous.

She held on to the post in the subway car, leaning easily with every jolt, twist, and turn. One hand on the support post, the other hand on the purse whose straps crossed her body. She took a quick mental inventory of her outfit, finding nothing revealing that would attract unwanted attention. She was fit and trim, but she didn’t display herself.

She glanced back up at him, and he was still looking at her, still smiling.  Maybe he was a walking ad for some dental office, his teeth were so perfect.  Irritated, she looked away and made up her mind not to look at him again.

The train stopped.  People got off, more got on. The man moved a couple of steps closer to her, now resting his hand on the same post she was using.  Good grief.

Unable to resist, she looked again. This time he winked, smiling that perfect smile. She felt like slugging him.

Five more minutes to her stop.  Each second seemed like an hour. Then, startling her completely, he spoke.

“You don’t need to be nervous about me.  I’m not a creep.  It’s clear you don’t remember me, but I remember you very well.  Amelia, right?”

She was stunned, angry, afraid, curious.  People, complete strangers, just didn’t converse on the subway.  Especially, not with such familiarity.

“Okay, I can see I’ve upset you. Let me explain. We were both in the waiting room at the dentist’s office. I thought you were pretty.  Then your name was called and you left me sitting there wishing I’d asked for your name. But I never forgot, and I’ve been hoping to see you again for six months–and here we are!  Don’t you think that’s more than coincidence?”

“I think you’re a fake!  That’s the dumbest pickup line I’ve ever heard.  Leave me alone.”

Amelia turned so her shoulder was aimed at him and stared stonily at nothing, hoping he would just shut up. No such luck.

“Look, you can call your dentist.  Ask if Steve Maginelli is a patient there.  The only thing fake about me is my two front teeth. They got knocked out in a football game.  Please. Do that, and you’ll find out I’m not a phony. Come on.”

The train stopped, and she nearly tripped in her rush to get out of there.

Her curiosity got the best of her, though, and the next day she called her dentist.

Steve was a client.  His teeth were false. His last appointment had been the same day as her last appointment. The receptionist thought he was a real catch. Nice guy. Genuine.

She got his number, called him, and they made a date for coffee.

Not fake. A really good guy. Who knew?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fake/

4 thoughts on “Who Knew?

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 19 – “How To Write A ‘How To’ List” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Excellent story. It kept my attention and I kept wondering what the outcome would be. It’s always a good idea to be cautious especially if your gut feeling is giving out warning signs. She was wise to stay clear of him and check out his information. Apparently he has a real interest in her to persist in trying to get to know her. At least they will find out now if they wish to continue seeing each other.

    Like

  3. Glad you enjoyed it. I get a lot of fun out of writing these little mini-stories. It almost seems sometimes that they write themselves. I don’t always have any clue what’s going to happen next 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

