Ahhhh! What a Relief!

Refresh

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

************

For the past 1 1/2 weeks, I’ve been a vegetable. Lots of sack time, lots of sitting in front of the tube, or working on an embroidery project, or falling asleep over a book. Lots of pain. Finally got in to see my pain doctor  yesterday, and he scheduled me to get the shots that give me relief at 8:15 this morning.

I can’t begin to tell you what the pain is like.  It’s just an aching, grinding, sometimes very sharp presence in my lower back. It travels down my leg both front and back.  Turns me into an old, old lady  shuffling along with a cane, holding up anyone unfortunate enough to be following me.

 5266-obese-elderly-woman-walking-on-a-cane-with-a-painful-back-clipart-by-dennis-cox-at-wackystock

When I woke up at 4:30 this morning because I had moved wrong in my sleep, all I  could think of was “four more hours.”  Four hours until the shots, four hours until the relief from pain that has worn me out over the last month.

Why did I wait so long to get help?  Well, haven’t you ever had a pain somewhere and thought, “I’ll just wait, maybe it will go away”?  That’s what I did. I won’t do it again. I foolishly worry that the doctor will think I’m just a cry baby, or that it’s something else, not the pain created by the herniation of a couple of lumbar discs. I should have known better, and next time I will.

I’m already feeling refreshed.  I’m supposed to be quiet today, rest as much as possible. Tomorrow I can resume normal life. I can already feel a reduction in pain, although it takes about a week to feel the full benefit of the steroid. At this point, any small relief is welcome.

Look out, world!  I’m coming back!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/refresh/

8 thoughts on “Ahhhh! What a Relief!

Leave a Reply

