I Love my Job!

Money for Nothing

If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.

*************

First, I have to say the title of this prompt doesn’t make much sense to me.

Now, jobs and satisfaction.

My first official job was being a cashier at a grocery store.  I paid my own way through college, so the job was good because the schedule was flexible.  That’s about the only positive thing I can think of to say about it.

Moving along, I got married, had four kids.  That was my main career for a long time.  I did some substitute teaching and tutoring during those years, and I was very satisfied to be mostly a stay-at-home mom.  I wouldn’t do it any differently.  It was hard, because there wasn’t a lot of money.  I kept house in such a way that every penny got pinched at least three times.  Terry has always done all our car upkeep and household repairs.  We lived on very little.

When my youngest was 10, I started teaching full time.  Loved the classroom.  Loved seeing those “Aha!” moments in my students.  Loved my subjects, loved the whole scene.  Even parent-teacher conferences weren’t so bad. Some were, but most were fine.  I about wore myself out during those years.  Terry was trucking and away from home a lot. All the kids were in extracurriculars.  I was the yearbook supervisor, taught the elementary school music for a couple of years, plus an eight or nine class daily schedule.  Crazy.

Then we moved, and my life changed dramatically. Fast forward to now.  I got a master’s degree, and for 15 years I’ve been working as a therapist in a Christian counseling office. There’s a big story behind all that which I’ve probably already written about.

(Because of what I do, I think this is hilarious. And true!)

I love my work. Sometimes I come home completely drained, but usually there’s been a victory somewhere during the day.  I’m an independent contractor, so I can work as much or as little as I please. At my age, that’s a nice perk. The satisfaction of being able to use the Word of God to help people find their way out of their pain is priceless.

And I’m blogging.  That’s not a career, but it’s important to me, a  wannabe writer all my life. Blogging has encouraged me to actually do some writing.

I’m very content. I’m not wealthy;  money has never really been my motivation. I have been blessed to do everything I’ve done. God is good. And even if I hadn’t been so blessed, God is still good. 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/money-for-nothing/

2 thoughts on “I Love my Job!

Leave a Reply

