Worth Re-reading

Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

****************

Growing up, I read Little Women so often I had parts of it memorized.  I also read Black Beauty and Heidi. These were books that I owned, and I never got tired of them.

Later, and even now, I never get tired of Dickens, Austen, or Shakespeare.

But there is one Book I read every day.  I’ve been reading it through every year since I was 19, a sophomore in college.  It was then that I first responded to the challenge to make reading the Bible through every year a habit.

I also read through the book of Proverbs every month, reading the chapter number that corresponds to the day’s date.  When there are only 30 days in the month, I read the last two chapters on the same day.  In February, two chapters for the last two days, with an extra chapter when it’s a Leap Year.

I’m 68, will be 69 in July.  That means I’ve been doing this for nearly 50 years, and there are two astonishing things about that.  Fifty years ago I was already 19!  And God has pestered me about continuing this practice when there have been months in which I really didn’t want to do it.  Sometimes I’ve let it go for weeks at a time, but I get convicted about it and always go back and catch up.

I love the Bible.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/second-time-around/

20 thoughts on “Worth Re-reading

  1. I’m with you on this, Linda. I love the Bible too. I like your reading schedule idea. I use the sticky note method of moving my markers each day and reading both Old and New Testament passages throughout the year. Some days I only read a bit. Other days I read lots.
    Blessings on your weekend ~ Wendy

  2. Wayne Holmes

    Even when I don’t feel like reading bible in general, I can still think of a few books/scriptures that I don’t mind reading over and over (Ecclesiastes, Matthew 5-7, Job 38-40, etc). There’s so much to find and re-find in the bible.

  3. Linda Fode

    I read Little Women at least 23 times. I identify with Joe. Maybe the writer dream began there. It’s definite that I’m not an Amy!

  4. Wow that is neunundsechzig in German, and I am only siebenundzwanzig(27). Some of my grannies back home are younger than you and I bet they not that good in writing or in the digital world but I understand where they coming from. You know how Africa was back in the days with colonialism and stuff but when get back home want to share a lot with them because even here in Deutschland, old people are good in a lot of things.

    1. I am privileged to be an American back when we still had some pride in our country, and the freedom to get an education without it costing a lifetime’s worth of income. I have a master’s degree and work as a psychotherapist. Young people today can plan on spending at least 20 years or more of their working lives paying back their student loans. It’s a shame.

Leave a Reply

