Thanks, Wordy, for that Picture!

Naked with Black Socks

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

********************

What an odd prompt title.   I won’t be able to get that picture out of my mind any time soon.

I’m very comfortable in front of people.  My dad had me teacing two-year-olds in Sunday School when I was only 12, and I’ve been teaching ever since.  I participated in speech contests in high school.  I’ve been a high school teacher.  I teach adult women’s Bible study, and I do a moderate amount of public speaking at women’s conferences and seminars.  Not a problem.

In fact, the more the merrier.  I guess I’m a ham.  I love to elicit responses from the audience, and I find myself speaking not just to a faceless group, but to individuals. It’s a lot of fun, and I suspect I get more out of it than my audience does.

I truly feel sorry for those who hate to speak publicly and suffer no end of nerves, nausea, and anxiety when they have to do so.  I’ll never forget seeing a girl faint in my  senior year of high school when she had to get up in front to give a speech. Felt so bad for her.

I’m just not one of those.  There are plenty of other things that scare me spitless.  Public speaking is not one of them.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/naked-with-black-socks/

One thought on “Thanks, Wordy, for that Picture!

Leave a Reply

