Favorite Things

Just Another Day

Our days our organized around numerous small actions we repeat over and over. What’s your favorite daily ritual?

*************

The first thing that popped into my mind was   GOING TO BED!!  See, it involves several pleasant little rituals.  Heating up my new electric mattress pad; putting some lovely aromatic essential oil in my diffuser that scents my room all night; checking my alarm, especially if I don’t have to get up early;  setting my pillows just right for reading; placing my bedside light just right, resting in the knowledge that it’s on a timer and will turn itself off around midnight, when I’m usually deep in dreamland.

When I was in my teens, I got into the habit of reading myself to sleep.  Many of my dreams have evolved from a book I’m reading, and can be quite colorful. Sometimes they wake me up, but not often.  I love my sleep, and I have an incredibly comfortable bed. In the winter, I put my down-filled comforter on my bed so that I’m sandwiched between my heated mattress pad and my cloud-soft comforter.  It’s like being wrapped in a fluffy cocoon.

Maybe I should go back there for a while.  I just got a call that my first client for the day cancelled.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/just-another-day/

Leave a Reply

