Neither, Thanks

Can’t Stand Me

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

*******

A video of myself just embarrasses me.  I know I’m fat, but seeing it from outside myself is just  a total bummer. I don’t like pictures of myself, either.

A voice recording isn’t so bad.  It’s just that  my voice sounds different to me than it does to you, and I have a hard time reconciling what I hear on a tape and what I hear in my head. People have asked me to be in all different vocal groups, so I’m assuming that they don’t find my voice unpleasant.  I probably should have written that last sentence in past tense.  Women’s voices fade earlier than men’s do. Not fair, but that’s life. These days, my voice is unreliable at best, creaky and croaky at its worst.  Every now and then things clear up and I can actually sing, but even then my register is much lower than it used to be, and I’ve always been a low alto. These days, I could sing bass. 

Surely there are more interesting things to discuss.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/cant-stand-me/

 

 

5 thoughts on “Neither, Thanks

    1. Some vocal chords tend to thicken with age, creating a lower vocal tone. Then why, sometimes, do older women get that high, quavery pitch? Weakened and dry vocal chords become stringy, which prevent normal vibration, causing higher pitched voices that sound thin. All kinds of things happen as we age, not all of them pleasant, but the upside is we tend to be a little smarter than when we were 15 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

