I Wouldn’t

If I Could Turn Back Time

If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

******************************

Another one I’m pretty sure I’ve already written but couldn’t find.  Maybe the first time around I didn’t understand the pingback thing.

Anyway, no.  I wouldn’t want to go back and relive anything, even if I also had the supernatural power to change it. See, then I wouldn’t be who I am.  I’d be someone different, and different isn’t always better.

Enough of that.

I started swimming for exercise back in the early part of October.  The first time I went, standing at the shallow end and looking miles and miles down there to the deep end, I didn’t think I was going to be able to go ten feet.  It’s amazing what determination and perseverance can do. That first day must have been just pitiful for the lifeguard to watch.  I’m sure she was pacing the sides of the pool, waiting to have to jump in and rescue me. I sidestroked, crawled, and backstroked my way to the deep end.  Then I did the same thing back to the shallow end, and then I got out.

France's Camille Muffat dives in to the water during women's 200m freestyle final

(This is NOT me! )

But I went back, twice each week.  After Christmas was over, I had some appointments that kept me out of the pool for two weeks. Yesterday I went back, and I did 24 laps.

I thought I would die.

I add a lap each time I go. A mile is 33 laps, and once I reach that goal I’ll work on speed. But yesterday, after two weeks off, I really didn’t know if I could do ten, then 15, then 18, then. . . . .just one more, I kept telling myself.  Just one more.

And finally I backstroked that 24th lap, and if I’d had the energy I’d have done a happy dance!

It’s the small things, these days.  I have some sore places today, one shoulder in particular, that remind me not to let my routine get bumped again. Stay on track. Stay disciplined. I gained back a couple of pounds last week because I simply lost my discipline.  It takes two weeks or more to lose two pounds, but only a couple of days to gain them.

No real point to this ramble, so I’ll stop now.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/if-i-could-turn-back-time/

2 thoughts on “I Wouldn’t

Leave a Reply

