My Heroes

Teen Age Idol

Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

**********

I’m pretty sure I responded to this post last time it cam around, but I couldn’t find it.  Short answer:  I loved Annette Funicello.  Everyone did. And I admired her even more as she labored through MS with such style.

But most of us get past our teenaged idols, I hope, and move on to a more stable level of admiration for people we respect for more mature reasons.

I don’t tend to idolize anyone.  I’m keenly aware of all our human flaws and failings, and the people I most respect don’t try to pretend they have no weaknesses.  They don’t blather on endlessly about their faults, thereby begging for reassurance; but they don’t try to pretend they are faultless.

I respect people who, ancient though they may be, can acknowledge they don’t know everything. They are still learning, still growing, even perhaps as they are dying.

I had a young friend who was only 36 when she died. She blessed everyone who knew her through her battle with cancer, and several years later she still comes into conversations, spoken of with love and respect.  The last time I spoke with her, she had a question for me about heaven. Still wanting to learn, and looking forward to seeing her Savior very soon.

I know a blogger who has ALS.  He’s not writing much these days, but when he does, it’s always positive and encouraging. I respect that.

Right now?  I have to respect the very, very few public figures who are not intimidated by political correctness; who stand by biblical standards of morality and behavior in spite of the the vitriol that flows their way when they do.  I even respect the very few Hollywood figures who swim upstream against the endless flood of humanistic philosophy that comes from most entertainers.   Let me give you something to consider:  Fame, wealth, and incredible good looks do not make a person wise. It’s not an automatic go-together.

0b85c4b2e64bef8ecc515e002fa3120c53eaaae1

I don’t know yet who I’m going to support for the Presidential election, because the field is still pretty wide open. I have my favorites, but there isn’t a front runner yet.  I even have to respect The Donald, although I find his arrogance hard to take, because he’s saying things right out loud that millions of Americans believe but are afraid to voice. There’s that political correctness thing again, making all of us aware of backlash if we state the obvious.

I’ll tell you someone else I respect, and that’s any pastor who is willing to remain faithful to God’s Word no matter what.

I made a comment on an online meme the other day, something I rarely do, about whether or not God should be allowed in our schools.  I think it’s a silly question, because God is God, and He goes wherever He chooses. We are silly indeed if we think we can legislate Him out of any place.  As long as there are people in the schools who believe in Him, He is there.

I got a very quick response from a man who informed me that the only people who are excluded are intolerant people such as myself.

I wonder how he came to his conclusion about someone he’s never met?  Well, I’ll tell you.  It’s because political correctness has decreed that anyone who believes in the Christian God is an intolerant, racist,  ignorant fool.

Who’s intolerant, really?

Okay, I think I’m done. A little off topic, but it’s a worn-out topic 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/teen-age-idol/

7 thoughts on “My Heroes

  1. I have a lot of respect for what you just said. I shake my head when I read certain things and wonder how man in all our acclaimed intelligence think that we can encapsulate and bottle God, putting him in places where we choose to. I don’t even bother wasting my energy arguing with people who think that way. Well written.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Jacqueline. Some people think they are right and never give respect for someone who has a different opinion. I’m so sick of all the political correctness! Why can’t people just agree to disagree? Everyone will never agree on the same thing, no matter what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not sure if you thought you were commenting on someone else’s post–I’m not Jacqueline 🙂 I do think your comment applies to my post, and I agree with you. Trouble is, when we believe strongly that something is just plain wrong, it’s hard to agree to disagree.

      Like

Leave a Reply

