Easy One!

Unpopular

Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.

*****************

There are only 19 responses to this one, so far, and I thought maybe it was a new prompt. But no. It was first offered in 2012.  Must have been unpopular back then 🙂

 So why do I think it’s an easy one?   Well, because my whole life has been lived at a distance from pop culture.  When I was very young, it was my parents’ choice to live according to the Bible, and I sometimes explained my nonparticipation in the activities other kids enjoyed as “it’s against my religion.”

I got over that, though. By the time I was in high school, I started to stand on my own convictions and stop making excuses for them. My own sister liked to poke at me, calling me a “goody two-shoes.”  Well, there could be worse things.

I didn’t smoke, nor did I ever have a desire to try it.  It smells bad, and it’s expensive.  I chose not to drink, a choice I’ve never regretted.  It smells bad, it makes you act stupid, and it’s expensive.  I chose to remain a virgin until I was married, and I married a man who had the character to make the same choice. No regrets there, either.  No STD’s, no unwanted pregnancies, no remorse.

I don’t watch movies or TV programs that are laced with vulgarity, profanity, and kids being a whole lot smarter than their moronic parents. That pretty much limits movies and TV, and that’s ok with me.  There are hundreds and hundreds of very good books I haven’t read yet.

I’ve never enjoyed “music” that is nothing but screaming, angry diatribes against authority, rules, and morality.  I didn’t like Elvis Presley.  I thought he looked greasy.  The man had a gorgeous voice, I’ll grant you that. But what on earth does it mean that “You ain’t nothin’ but a hound dog, just a rockin’all the time”?  And that was pretty innocent compared to the stuff that came out after the Beatles made their debut.  No, thanks.   This doesn’t mean there was no good music after the ’50’s.  There’s a lot, actually, and there is still a lot of good new music today.  I just don’t want anything to do with the ugly stuff.

I never wore mini-skirts or hot pants. Too embarrassing. I’ve never been a fad-follower, unless it was a fad I though would remain popular over a period of years, making it worth spending money on.

Call me a fuddy duddy or a goody two shoes.  I don’t care.  I’m very happy and content with my life.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unpopular/

4 thoughts on “Easy One!

Leave a Reply

