No Fear?

Fearless Fantasies

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?

************

Sometimes, being completely fearless would just be stupid.  There are things we need to fear.  That’s why God created us with nerve endings that register pain.  They keep us from holding our hands in the flame just to see what happens next.

On the other hand, we need to be fearless in the face of evil that we can and should stand against.  The world wouldn’t be in the mess it’s in today if every individual would simply stand against evil and DO something about it.  If we all did everything we could to resist the tide of evil, it would be a better place.

There are things I fear that I wish I didn’t.  I’m afraid of snakes. Viscerally afraid of them.

I’m afraid of high places that have no barriers between me and the chasm.  Don’t like it at all.

I don’t know if can say I’m truly afraid of tightly enclosed places, but I sure don’t enjoy getting an MRI.  No panic attacks, just a strong desire for it to be over.

I used to be far more fearful of things I no longer dread.  I used to hate it when Terry was away overnight or for several nights.  Doesn’t bother me much these days.  I sleep very well.

Remember Dr. Suess’ story of the pale green pants?  If not, you should go find it.

img_0014

I think something you learn as you grow older is that it’s counter-productive to waste your time and energy being afraid of every single thing you can’t control.  I have no desire to die in a tsunami, hurricane, tornado, or volcanic eruption, but I’m not afraid of those things. They happen.  If I happen to be nearby, then so be it.

Some of my counseling work is helping people get over living in “What if World.”  We can scare ourselves to death worrying over what might be, while we fail to enjoy what is.

God said, “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness” (Isaiah 41:10).

 https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fearless-fantasies

 

3 thoughts on “No Fear?

  1. This bring to mind my favorite verses:
    “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.
    There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High. God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early.”
    Isaiah 46:1-5

Leave a Reply

