Alright!

Exhale

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright. 

**********

I dreamed I lived in a perfect world where everyone knows that it’s “all right,”  not “alright.”

Think of it this way.  “All is right.”  Everything is all right, instead of being all wrong.

This ranks right up there with “There’s alot of incorrect spelling out there.”

No.  It’s “a lot.”  I promise.  Every single time.

mean-ol-schoolmarm-all-right-or-alright1

So there’s my silly, nitpicking beef for the day.  I hope none of you are offended.  I’m not being terribly serious here.  I have to admit, though, that the ubiquitous use of “alright” is starting to make me worry that it will soon be accepted as correct, because language is like that.  It changes.  It’s elastic.  It’s just sad that the changes are usually a step downward from standard, formal English rather than a step  upward.

It has even affected me.  The other day I told someone to chew his mouth empty.  Good grief.  That’s a Pennsylvania Dutchism that I have never used on purpose. Right up there with “outen  the lights,”   “I left my kids go to the store,”   “I’m done my homework,” and “I seen a deer.”

Sorry.  I can’t help it.  It’s the grammar teacher in me.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/exhale/

2 thoughts on “Alright!

Leave a Reply

