Palm Reader

Life Line

You’re on a long flight, and a palm reader sitting next to you insists she reads your palm. You hesitate, but agree. What does she tell you?

******************

First, I can’t imagine ever agreeing to let anyone do this hocus pocus on me.

Second, I’ve a lot more life behind me than ahead of me on this old earth, and I really don’t care to know my earthly future before it happens.  I like to be surprised.

Third, on the outside chance that I agreed to this exercise, I’m so skeptical that I probably would have a hard time to keep from laughing at the poor lady.

Finally, if she really knows her business, she’ll realize I’m not a cooperative client.  Maybe we could both take a nap, or read a book, or watch a movie.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/life-line/

4 thoughts on “Palm Reader

    1. I, too, acknowledge and respect the existence of a spirit world, so I understand whyyou wouldn’t laugh. However, so many of the people who practice these “arts” are nothing but snake oil salesmen, frauds who know nothing of the reallspirit world.

      1. True. The senior’s home I worked in years ago had one fortune-teller resident and she was a real case. Loaded with cheap jewellery, plastered with make-up. Perhaps phony as a “reader”, but she could make money disappear.
        When she took a cab and handed the driver the fare, suddenly she dropped some of the coins, then told the cabbie, “Well, I had it all there. I can’t hunt for it now, but you’ll find it later.” In the end cabbies refused to pick her up anymore.

Leave a Reply

