Favorite Places

The Wanderer

Tell us about the top five places you’ve always wanted to visit.

****************

(**Already been there)

  1.  Ireland.  Land of green, of magical creatures, beautiful little villages and  ocean views.  Also land of sorrow, suffering, and death. Pathos.
  2. England**   Still so much more to see there, but I’ve seen Stonehenge before they put up the barriers to keep people from vandalizing the stones.  I’ve seen a lot of London.  Been to King Arthur’s grave, and Salisbury and Bath.  Loved it.  For an English and history teacher, it was like coming home.

3.  Scotland.  Rugged terrain.  History,  Loch Ness.

4.  Germany**  Again, history.  If my son and his family hadn’t moved there  16+ years ago, I may not have been there.  Loved Oberamergau, the Passion Play, the countryside.  The castles.  The tidy villages and orderly way of life.

5.  Boy, this is hard.  So many other places I’d love to see, but I think I’ll bring it home to America this time.  I’d love to see Hawaii, but if I’m going to stay in the mainland I guess I’d really love  to go to New Orleans.  Louisiana is one of the  two or three states I’ve never been to, and I’d love to see it.  I’ve read a great deal about it, the history (do you see a running theme here?)  and the uniqueness of the population there. I’m not so interested in Mardi Gras, but I am very interested indeed in the day-to-day life of the people who live there.

It’s probably a good thing there was a limit of five places.  I really want to see everything I’ve never seen.  I’m fascinated by the Orient, and while I don’t especially enjoy deserts, I’d like to see the Sahara maybe from the distance of a helicopter seat 🙂  I’d love to see the African game lands, with their herds of uniquely African animals.  I’d love to spend time in the South Pacific. . . .well, you get the idea.  If I were wealthy, I’d travel.

In comfort.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-wanderer/

 

 

2 thoughts on “Favorite Places

Leave a Reply

