Pretense

The Great Pretender

Are you full of confidence or have you ever suffered from Imposter Syndrome? Tell us all about it.

************

So many things come rushing to my mind.

The first day of school in kindergarten, third, fifth, sixth, seventh, and ninth grade–twice in that year–when I pretended I was just fine being the new girl.  The only one who didn’t know anyone else. The only one who hadn’t grown up in the neighborhood.

The first time my preacher dad told me I was going to play the piano for church because the regular pianist was sick.  I was twelve. I’d never had a lesson. 

The first time I babysat someone other than my little brother.

The first time I went on a real date.

The first time I met my future in-laws.

The first time a faced a classroom full of kids who didn’t know me, and I didn’t know them. 

The first time I went to the hospital to have a baby.  And the second, third and fourth, for that matter.

The first day back to college for a master’s degree.

The first day I sat alone in a room with a new client who expected me to figure out what was wrong and how to fix it.

The first time I wrote a blog post.

The first time I went for pain treatment via shots for my wonky back.

There are multitudes of others.  I generally manage to put on an air of confidence, but it’s a sham.

A complete sham.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-great-pretender/

7 thoughts on “Pretense

  1. I can so identify! If people knew what the real me was feeling inside… Sometimes i tell people I’m really a shy person. They smile—or chuckle skeptically—but nobody believes me. So I tell them “I just hide it well,” and we let it go at that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

