Book Character Friends

Imaginary Friend

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

*******************

I am beyond irritated. Was working on my laptop, and lost half of this post; can’t find it using all my usual tricks, so have to reconstruct.  It’s never as good the second time around, but here goes:

My world was peopled not with imaginary friends, but with people I met in the books I read. My earliest favorite was Heidi, portrayed by Shirley Temple. I watched her grow up in her movies, then followed her life as an adult.  Felt I’d lost a friend when she died.

Next would have been the many books about the Bobbsey Twins.  I especially like Nan.  I loved the way her hair was braided into a coronet around her head.  I loved her clothes, and the adventures they all entered into.  My favorite was the book about what it was like at their house at Christmas.  I could daydream about that for hours.

Moving along into more mature stories, I read every book I could find by Louisa May Alcott.  I loved all four of the Little Women, especially as they moved into their adult lives.  Meg, the budding homemaker; Jo, the writer; Beth, the pianist, and Amy, the world traveler and artist.  Again, I loved their hair and clothes, although I’m thankful not to have to fuss with all that fabric today.

As I started reading more historical novels, learning about great women in history both famous and infamous, I began to identify more with their emotions, thought processes, and experiences.  My special interest in British history  is the Tudor era and the rise of the mighty Queen Elizabeth I.  Complicated, temperamental, wily  and ruthless, she held sway over the entire world. In her time, that was unheard of. Do I identify with her?  No.  She was never an imaginary friend. But she was a towering figure in history.

And I guess that’s enough.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/imaginary-friend/

 

Leave a Reply

