Michalovce

Immortalized in Stone

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

*********************

My sculptor would be creating a copy of the centrum in Michelovce, Slovakia.

It was my great privilege to go to this city on the eastern end of Slovakia on a missions trip with my church. We were there to help a small evangelical church with a building project, and to hold meetings with that church and a couple of other churches who came from other towns.

Meeting the big-hearted people was such a blessing.  They opened their homes and hearts to us; they treated us to their own special brand of hospitality. They were so grateful for the work that was accomplished.

My host family was the pastor and his wife and children. I learned so much from them, including Slovakian history and especially their “bloodless revolution” when they removed their country from the Communist control of Russia.

I got to join in ministry to the women there, and also to a group of Roma, or gypsies, who  welcomed us just as freely as the church folks.

Of course, I loved seeing this beautiful country, and I loved the opportunity of seeing Budapest where we got some time just to be tourists before our flight back home.

It was a landmark experience for me.  I want to go back.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/immortalized-in-stone/

2 thoughts on “Michalovce

  1. michaelkreger

    Y’know, I strongly suspect that you WILL be back in Slovakia, one of these days. And probably Germany, too…

    If you know what’s good for you.

Leave a Reply

