The God of the Mountain is Still God in the Valley

Mountaintops and Valleys

Describe a time when you quickly switched from feeling at the top of the world to sinking all the way down (or vice versa). Did you learn anything about yourself in the process?

********************

I know, I know.  I’m coming in late with any comments on the anniversary of the terrorist attacks, but it’s the first thing that came to mind, so I’m going with it.

I’d been out grocery shopping.  It was a gorgeous day in my corner of Pennsylvania, where September and October are rewards for July and August.  My 19-year-old daughter was home, doing some cleaning.

I was bringing in the first load of groceries from the car.  When I came through the door, I was surprised to see my daughter sitting on the floor, tears running down her cheeks, watching the TV.   She turned to me, a look of shock on her face, and said, “Mom, I think we’re under attack.  They’re not calling it that, but  I think that’s what it is.”

Just about that time, we watched in horror as the second plane flew into the second tower.

You all know the rest.

It brought me down from a beautiful, productive fall day to  hours of darkness and utter helplessness as, unable to turn it off, we watched New York City struggle with the aftermath of the evil that had been done.

I am thankful for this song:

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mountaintops-and-valleys/

6 thoughts on “The God of the Mountain is Still God in the Valley

Leave a Reply

