Fate or Choice?

Que Sera Sera

Do you believe in fate or do you believe you can control your own destiny?

******************

While this is a rerun, I don’t remember writing to it before, so here goes.

Do I believe in fate?  Nope. Not if you’re talking about the astrological stuff, or Tarot cards and all that.  I do not believe that the alignment of stars and planets has diddly to do with what happens to me.

Do I believe I can control my own destiny?

That’s a harder question to answer.  I believe that when you choose a behavior, you also choose the consequence, good or bad. In that sense, yes, I choose my own destiny.  If I choose to murder, then I choose to die violently or spend my life in prison. Natural consequences.

On a different level, I believe that what I choose to do with Jesus Christ decides my eternal destiny. I’m a Christian by choice, because I believe that the Bible is true. I was not born a Christian simply because my parents were Christians.  It was a choice I made early in my childhood, and one I’ve never regretted.

I believe that God is the most important thing in my life, and all that I am or do is to honor Him. That belief, that choice, guides my destiny.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/que-sera-sera/

6 thoughts on “Fate or Choice?

  1. Sometimes stuff happens, sometimes you make it happen. You are right. It works both ways. Someone might say that we decided to take one route and not the other, because it was destiny – actually, you could also argue both ways.

  2. The Bible says, and I’ll paraphrase here, that God knows the number of hairs on our heads. He has also given us free will. So, in that respect I believe we are
    have some control over our destiny, in making good decisions. Whichever road we travel, I believe we are meant to travel it and God in His redeeming Grace watches over us.

    Sorry, if this message looks a bit crazy or my sentences wacky. Everytime I try to leave a message, the sentence type over each other.

Leave a Reply

