Calling Names Does Hurt!

 How Dare You!

What’s the one thing you hope other people never say about you?

*****************

I’ve been called a lot of names in my 68 years.  I won’t bore you with a list. The important thing is that I remember them. I don’t dwell on them, but if I think about it for a while they start coming back to me.

That old saying about sticks and stones is a big fat lie.  Names DO hurt!  If the namecalling is coming from a family member, or someone else who professes to love you, then it is doubly hurtful. The things we are told about ourselves as children are hard to expunge.  It can be done, but it’s hard!  It involves learning to forgive those who hurled those names at you.

Ask anyone who was fat as a child if all the namecalling was hurtful.  You may be surprised at how deep that pain can go.

All right.  The one thing I hope no one ever says about me:  “She’s  arrogant. She doesn’t care about anyone but herself. She’s a big-mouthed know-it-all.”

And yes, there’s a story behind that.  I’ll be brief.

It seems, especially when I was younger, that anything I got involved in, I eventually ended up leading.  This was not always by my own design, although sometimes it was.  I’m a good decision-maker and problem-solver.  I’m also a good organizer, and I can usually see what needs to be done, and find the best people to do what needs to be done.

Unfortunately, those traits don’t always get a person the Miss Congeniality award. Over time, I’ve learned to soften the corners and sharp edges of my personality, and I like to think I’ve improved a little bit.  I sure do try hard!

These days, I’m working as a therapist in a Christian counseling office.  I have to be a good listener.  I have to be tactful, kind, and understanding. Sometimes?  All that is really, really hard! It’s been good for me, though, and I think most of my clients  would not characterize me as arrogant, know-it-all, etc.  At least, I sure hope not!

I do care.  Deeply.  Sometimes too much. And I’m learning to zip it even when I DO know the right answer 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/daily-prompt/

Leave a Reply

