Beats Me!

Delayed Contact

How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

****************

Well, good grief.  How do I know?  If I’ve never met them before,  I can’t make any predictions.  I know nothing about them.  So I would do what I always do when I meet someone new.

“Hi, nice to meet you!”
“Good to meet you, too, Linda.  I’ve hear so much about you.”

“Uh-oh.  It always makes me nervous to hear that! Please don’t form an opinion before I have a chance to redeem my reputation.”

“Oh, no, nothing bad, believe me.  So, are you still working as a therapist?”

“Yes, I am.  Love my work.  What about you?  Are you working outside the home?”

“Yes.  I’ve been a teacher for years, and I, too, love my work.”

“Well, then, we should have a lot to talk about.  I was a teacher before I switched career paths 15 years ago and became a counselor.  What age, or subjects, do you teach?”

And we’re off!  This person will probably become at least a pleasant acquaintance, if not a valued friend.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/delayed-contact/

One thought on “Beats Me!

Leave a comment