Classic, I Guess

Style Icon

Describe your personal style, however you’d like to interpret that — your clothing style, your communication style, your hair style, your eating style, anything.

*******************

This one just makes me shake my head.  I want you to understand that none of what I’m about to say is a complaint.  It just was, I don’t feel deprived or any other such self-pitying emotion.

There was rarely any left-over money at the end of the paycheck when I was growing up. Sometimes, I think there was more month than money. We were never hungry, we always had what we really needed, and we didn’t suffer. New clothes, however, were not at the top of the priority list.

I grew up wearing mostly hand-me-downs, with something Mom made now and then to brighten my closet. She was an amazing seamstress, and the things she made were always among my favorites.

Wearing hand-me-downs doesn’t really let you develop much of a style of your own. Anyway, I never gave it a thought until I was in high school, when I began to realize that some of the other girls always had new clothes at the beginning of a school year.  Even then, though, I wasn’t terribly concerned about whether or not I had a style of my own.  Truthfully, I still don’t give it a lot of thought.

There were some things that mattered.  I learned to fix my own hair when I was pretty young. My mom learned, from watching when she got her own hair cut, how to cut mine. She did a pretty good job of it, too. This was back in the days of the bouffant, teased up and sprayed so it never moved. When I let my hair grow longer, I would set it on big rollers so it would turn up in a “flip” at the ends.  Hair was a big deal.  I suppose it always has been.  Most women I know feel pretty good if their hair cooperates with them 🙂

Then I went to college, paying my own way and spending next to nothing on clothing.  I was more aware, now, but there wasn’t any money to go buy whatever was “in,” and I got along.  When I did scrape together enough money to buy something, it was always classic and basic.  It never went out of style. My clothes had to last me a long time.

Marriage and four pregnancies determined my style for a few years.  There’s not much you can do about style when you’re immersed in little kids and all the work of housekeeping on a shoestring.

I did, however, learn some things during those years.  I learned how important color is.  I learned to sew, and was able to make things I liked.  I began to understand that some things worked for me, and some didn’t. As our income allowed, I could go into a store, hit the sale racks, scan for color, and find something really good without having to try it on.

I don’t like to shop. Never did. That gene went from my mom to my daughter and skipped me completely.  I do most of my shopping online these days.  I’ve found two or three online stores that carry what I like, and I’ve never had to return anything.

So what’s my style?  I really don’t know.  Some people would probably find it boring.  It doesn’t matter to me.  I like what I like, everything in my closet goes with everything else because I know what colors are good for me, and I keep my clothes until they wear out. Classic, I guess. I don’t pay much attention to the latest fads.  They’d mostly look silly on me, anyway.  My work clothes are professional and feminine, and at home I like jeans, capris, and Tees.

And I like pretty, long dresses for when I dress up.

And that’s about it. Uncomplicated.  Oh, I do like jewelry, and I have a nice collection of everything from dainty to clunky.  Jewelry is fun.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/style-icon/

10 thoughts on “Classic, I Guess

    1. Exactly. Pants do the same thing—lengthen the line. At my (lack of) height, that’s a big deal. And it’s also what I suspect my smart-alecky son decided not to comment about 🙂

  1. Debra Connors

    I always smile when I read the Mike comments. I would like to be in the same room with the two of you! Too funny! And Linda, I do like your style. You always look lovely!

    1. I think there are probably some people who would do anything to escape being in the same room with us. . . . and thank you 🙂

      Can we do lunch anytime soon? Monday or Friday? I’m pretty clear this month.

Leave a Reply

