Sorry I Broke My Own Rule!

Well, I Never…

Tell us about something you’ve done that you would advise a friend never to do.

**********************

The first thing that comes to mind happened not too long ago. My rule for myself is that I don’t accept a friend request on Facebook from someone I don’t know until that person has answered my message inquiring how he found me. I will go to the person’s page and message him, asking if we know each other (I’m old. I don’t always remember people) and saying that I don’t typically “friend” someone I’ve never met.  Generally, I don’t hear from that person again.

A few months ago, I got a friend request from a high school kid–at least, when I went to look on his page, that’s how it seemed.  I read stuff, looked at a few pictures, and decided to go ahead and accept his request. Seemed like a decent kid, and I was curious about why he wanted to friend me.

I heard nothing more for several days. Then one morning when I was checking email, I had several queries from family and friends about this person, who had sent them all friend requests. Apparently he accessed my friend list.  I have since learned how to make that information for my eyes only. I immediately unfriended and blocked him, and urged everyone else to do the same.

As far as I know there was no harm done, but boy, did I feel stupid. 

I know better. And I broke my own rule. Duh.

So, what I would tell a friend is this:  Don’t ever accept a friend request from someone you don’t know unless that person is friends withs someone you trust. Check it out carefully. Don’t be stupid, like I was.

I’m claiming temporary insanity.  That’s the only excuse I can come up with to explain such a dumb move.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/well-i-never/

One thought on “Sorry I Broke My Own Rule!

Leave a Reply

