Miss it Like a Toothache

Going Obsolete

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

****************

Seriously, who misses obsolete anything?  What would I go back to if I could?  Typewriters, before the first electric ones appeared?  Changing the ribbons, dealing with carbon copies and whiteout and throwing away a whole page because you made an error in the last line?

No. Thanks.

Rotary dial phones?  Ok, they weren’t so bad, and you rarely had a call dropped right in the middle.  But you paid dearly for long distance calls.  I’m thinking back when there weren’t any second or third phones, no mobiles that you could carry with you while you talked, no caller ID, no call waiting–well, that one I could do without. “Call being rude” would be a better description.  Those phones progressed from the old-fashioned to the wall phone to the push-button “princess” phone to—drum roll—-smart phones, and I love mine. Don’t want to go

My husband would love to go back to the old Model A  Ford. Not me.  Air conditioning is way better than blown to pieces by the wind.

I look around my house, and we really don’t have a lot of gadgets compared to some people.  We don’t have any tablets.  We don’t have cable or dish TV. We live pretty simply, and I’m glad for that. But I have no desire to go back to an even more simple time when you may have looked like a Gibson girl, but what they don’t tell you is how uncomfortable it was to wear those silly corsets and bustles and have to mess with putting all that long hair up every day.

Good old days?  In a lot of ways, yes.

But I like it in the right here and now.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/going-obsolete/

2 thoughts on “Miss it Like a Toothache

  1. Oh, but I would definitely go back to knobs for appliances. I have an elderly cousin who’s forever disconnecting her cable service by pushing the wrong button on the remote when she tries to turn on her TV. she switches it to video or some other whatever and has to get the repairman in constantly (or someone else that’s knowledgeable) to push the right buttons and get it back to cable TV mode. And I can barely operate our electronic heater & air conditioner panels. Give me an ON/OFF dial any day!

    1. And that’s a perfect example of my lack of awareness for what other people may be dealing with in what seem like simple matters to me. I’m sure the day will come when I’ll wish for knobs and dials!

Leave a Reply

