Do as I Say, Not as I Do

Take It From Me

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself?

**************************

“It will help your depression if you  avoid sugar, get outdoors in the sunlight, do some weight-resistance exercise, walk, ride your bike, focus on eating whole, non-processed foods.  Get enough sleep. And try to de-stress your life.”

Yeah.  Right.

Easier said than done, on all counts. Old habits are hard to break, and we here in the land of McDonald’s and Burger King have developed a serious craving for high-fat, high-salt, high-sugar food. And for sitting. Endlessly.

It’s killing us, not just in terms of blood pressure and diabetes, but also in relation to our moods.Not saying that depression didn’t exist before all these modern poisons, but it’s certainly increased in this hurry-up world we’ve created.

And no, I haven’t always taken my own advice.  I try.  I do better, then I do worse. A lifetime of poor habits, of “sitteritis” on the job for many years, has not helped my physical or emotional health. I haven’t struggled much with depression, really; just enough to know I don’t want to go there.

It’s obvious that the cure is lifestyle-related, and that we can all do better. Just, somewhere, we have to find the motivation before we’re stuck in a wheelchair and unable to help ourselves.

Well.  I’m just a bundle of cheer this  morning 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/take-it-from-me/

8 thoughts on “Do as I Say, Not as I Do

  1. I have to do A LOT better with the weight bearing exercise and the calcium consumption – before the doc has no choice but to put me on some sort of horrific osteoporosis medication.

    Drink lots of milk, you young people out there, ‘cuz your bones build your body’s supply when you are young. And you don’t want to run out. Like me.

    1. Agreed. Also, realize that soda (pop, for those of you who live in a different area from mine!) leaches the calcium from your bones, especially dangerous after menopause. The stuff is bad for you.

      Julie, I took one of those bone meds for years, and still I’m dealing with osteoporosis, stenosis, herniated discs. Should have walked more, but the doc says a lot of it is just arthritic degeneration, not much I could have done.

      1. I didn’t know about the pop – I rarely drink it anymore, but now I am going to cut it out completely. I’m afraid of those meds, so I’m glad to know that you took one of them without dire consequence.

      2. It’s the carbonation, the fizzy, that hurts your bones.

        And no, no ill effects of taking Actonel for several years. At least none that I know of 😦

  2. Depression, or the prevention of depression, is what led me to start swimming and biking, which led to triathlons…which led to weight training, which led to a shoulder injury which led to discouragement, which led me back to bike riding and swimming. I’m hoping this is not a repeating cycle.

    I am working on giving up sodas and greatly decreasing my sugar intake. Taking proper supplements helps decrease the cravings. I know it is better for me, but hard to do.

    I know exercise is good for my bones as well. I do enjoy a long bike ride…And I feel great after I get off my bike! Getting off of it is sometimes the best part! I can eat more ice cream when riding regularly, too! Oh, wait….

Leave a Reply

