The Canyon is Grand!

Moved to Tears

Describe the last time you were moved to tears by something beautiful.

**************************

I doubt it’s the most recent time, but it’s the first thing that popped up in my mind.

About ten years ago, Terry and I flew to Las Vegas and then drove east through Arizona, Utah, and Colorado. In Arizona, we stopped at the Grand Canyon.  I’d never seen it before, even though I was born in Colorado. It was just never a priority on our trips back to Grand Junction to see my dad’s family.

We decided to see the Canyon by helicopter.  My knees weren’t very good, and I couldn’t even think about walking down into the canyon. I’d never been in a chopper before, either, so I was full of anticipation. Our pilot was a Viet Nam vet who was just as comfortable behind the controls of his chopper as I would have been at my kitchen stove. Calm, in control.  We took off and cruised just above tree level.

No big deal so far, right? Then, the pilot told us to prepare ourselves, because things were about to change.  I think he probably enjoys that moment when the chopper flies over the rim and the ground just drops out from under you. It’s such an abrupt change!

Our pilot  decided we were game for some fun.  There was no one else on board, so he didn’t have to worry about little kids hurling their breakfast or anything.  He took us across the canyon and started playing dodge ’em with the  walls of the Canyon as they undulated in and out. He would hover so we could look at the view and take pictures if we wanted to, and then he was off again. He showed us some places you wouldn’t imagine could exist down there, and it was all just breathtaking.  The Canyon is vast, colorful, and dangerous. I was amazed, and it wasn’t long before there were big fat tears rolling down my face.

Terry said it was more fun watching me than it was looking at the scenery.  He said I was like a little kid seeing a circus for the first time.  And that’s just how I felt.  You can’t really get a feel for the Canyon until you’ve been there.  It was magical, awe-inspiring, bigger than life.  I loved every minute, and I didn’t want it to be over.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/moved-to-tears/

15 thoughts on “The Canyon is Grand!

      1. The colors and the rock formations – such artistry! We saw Bryce from the top, looking down, and we saw Zion from the bottom looking up. Hiked under waterfalls, it was gorgeous and glorious. We wanted to walk the Narrows but the water level was too high and dangerous so they were closed to hikers. Some day – before my feet get too old and feeble.

        We headed over to the Grand, too, on that trip but the north rim was closed due to snow (I think). It was early April and the weather was warm and sunny at Bryce and Zion but snow at the Grand? Must have been a geography/weather pattern thing.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sounds as if you made nearly the same tour as we did. Zion is just overwhelming. All those huge rock formations! One of the things I love about Zion is the clarity shown in the rock strata that got all tumbled upside down during the Flood. Wonderful place.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Moved to Tears by “The Artist” (2011) | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. I would’t be as brave as you and find myself flying over the Canyon in a helicopter, but, after Easter Sunrise service on the rim (at least 25 years ago), we did hike down as far as Indian Village. It took two hours to hike down and four to hike back to the rim, and I could barely move the next day. It is indeed awe-inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

