I Can Do it Myself!

I Am a Rock

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?

************************

I was born on July 4.  Independence Day.  I was suppposed to come two weeks earlier, but apparently I wanted to make a statement of independence before I ever knew about independence.

I’ve never wanted help.  I’ve needed it, and had to ask for it, but it kills me.  I’d rather do it myself.  Why?  Well. . .because I can? Because I want to know how to do things, and I like figuring things out. Because I don’t want to have to rely on anyone else to do my thinking for me.

Because I never want to be seen as helpless and dim-witted.

If it’s a matter of brute strength, I’d still rather find a tool and figure out a way to do it myself. I’ve done some really stupid stuff that way.

Growing up, I hated being treated like a baby who couldn’t do anything without help.  Hated it.

I think I’ve gotten better over the  years.  Learned to understand that sometimes you help others by letting them help you. And I’ve been thankful many times for the kindly-intentioned help of someone who is helping out of a heart of caring and love.  The truth is, very few of us get through this life without needing help.

All you youngsters out there?  Learn to accept help with grace and appreciation.  If you live long enough, you’re going to need help.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-am-a-rock/

3 thoughts on “I Can Do it Myself!

Leave a Reply

